Home Sports Primoz Roglic wins Spanish Vuelta for 3rd straight year

Primoz Roglic wins Spanish Vuelta for 3rd straight year


SANTIAGO DE COMPOSTELA, Spain (AP) — Primoz Roglic sealed his third straight Spanish Vuelta title after adding to his already comfortable lead by winning the final stage’s time trial on Sunday. Roglic increased his advantage over runner-up Enric Mas during the 34 kilometers (21 miles) from Padrón to Santiago de Compostela to 4 minutes, 42 seconds.

The fourth stage win for the Jumbo-Visma leader at this edition of the Vuelta, including the first time trial on the opening stage. He took over the red jersey for good with a stellar performance in the high mountains over the final week. Roglic added to his Vuelta titles in 2019 and 2020 less than six weeks after claiming gold for Slovenia in the time trial at the Tokyo Olympics.

Primoz Roglic

Roglic capped his victory in the final meters by catching and overtaking Mas, who had started two minutes before him on their solo runs. Magnus Cort Nielsen was chasing his own fourth stage win at the race when he set the time to beat over the decisive time trial. But Roglic, despite almost going off course at one point, finished the stage at 44:02, some 14 seconds ahead of the Dane.

Jack Haig completed the podium in the general classification at 7:40 back. Roglic became just the fourth rider to win the Vuelta more than twice. Alberto Contador (2008, 2012, 2014) and Tony Rominger (1992-1994) also won it three times. Roberto Heras won it a record four times (2000, 2003-2005). More AP sports: https://apnews.com/hub/apf-sports and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here